Home News Awards at Listowel Writers’ Week

Awards at Listowel Writers’ Week

photo credit: Liz Quirke

Literary Awards announced at Listowel

Listowel Writers’ Week is well underway, with a glitter of literary prizes being awarded.

The Kerry Group Novel of the Year Award 2022 goes to Small Things Like These, by Claire Keegan.


  • Nora by Nuala O’Connor
  • White City by Kevin Power
  • Bright Burning Things by Lisa Harding
  • The Raptures by Jan Carson

The Pigott Poetry Prize is awarded to American Mules, By Martina Evans.

Martina Evans reads for Poetry Happening, on Books Ireland.


  • Shoulder Tap by Maurice Riordan
  • Howdie-Skelp by Paul Muldoon

The Bryan MacMahon Short Story Award goes to Stonewall, by Mike Guerin, while the Poetry Collection Prize goes to Scenes from a Boneyard by Lorraine McArdle.

The winner of the Duais Foras na Gaeilge goes to Focal ar Fhocal by Áine Ní Ghlinn.


  • Seanmhná Chernobyl by Eibhlís Carcione
  • Neoidríonónna by John Tinneny

The Nilsson Local Heritage Award goes to Developing Rural Ireland by Michéal Ó Fathartaigh.

Second Prize:  Vinegar Hill – The Last Stand of the Wexford Rebels of 1798 by Ronan O’Flaherty & Jacqui Hanes

The Creative Writing for Adults with Learning Difficulties and/or Disabilities Prize goes to Catching Green Waves by Eileen Stelter.


  • How Can You Keep On Moving by Ben Donnelly
  • The Express Bus by Maeve Doyle

Congratulations to all the winners and shortlistees!