Home Children's Ciara Smyth and Adiba Jaigirdar on Polari Longlist 2022

Ciara Smyth and Adiba Jaigirdar on Polari Longlist 2022

Ciara Smyth and Adiba Jaigirdar on Polari Longlist 2022

Ciara Smyth for Not My Problem (Andersen Press) and Adiba Jaigirdar for Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating (Hodder) have been longlisted for the inaugural Polari Children’s and YA Prize.

Ciara Smyth studied drama, teaching, and then social work at university. She has lived in Belfast for over 10 years. She published her first novel, The Falling in Love Montage, in 2020. Not My Problem won the Waterstone’s Children’s Prize Older Readers categories in 2022.

Adiba Jaigirdar is an award-winning, critically acclaimed and bestselling author. A Bangladeshi/Irish writer and former teacher, she has an MA in Postcolonial Studies from the University of Kent and a BA in English and History from UCD. The Henna Wars was her debut novel. Her third book, A Million to One, will be published in December.

Also longlisted are Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé for Ace of Spades (Usbourne), Jen Carney for The Accidental Diary of B.U.G. (Puffin), Darren Charlton for Wranglestone (Little Tiger), Alastair Chilsholm for Adam-2 (Nosy Crow), Juno Dawson for Stay Another Day (Quercus) and What’s the T? (Hachette Wren & Rock), Ian Eagleton and James Mayhew for Nen and the Lonely Fisherman, Erin Ekins for Queerly Autistic (Jessica Kingsley Publishers), Alice Oseman for Loveless (HarperCollins), and Harry Woodgate for Grandad’s Camper (Andersen Press).

Jodie Lancet-Grant, chair of the judges, said: “It was a total delight to read so many brilliant, joyous and uplifting queer books for children and young people. It is so important that all children see themselves and their families reflected in the stories they read and how lucky we are that so many talented authors and illustrations are helping us do just that.”

The shortlist will be announced on September 10th.

Other prizes include the Polari First Book Prize and the Polari Prize. These awards are the UK’s only dedicated awards for LGBTQ+ literature.