Home News Irish Book Awards 2019 Winners!

Irish Book Awards 2019 Winners!

The 2019 Irish Book Awards were last night. Those in attendance had a wonderful time with author Sinéad Gleeson quoted saying it is “basically the writers’ Christmas party!”

This year’s ceremony was hosted by Miriam O’Callaghan and Evelyn O’Rourke, and full highlights of the An Post Irish Book Awards will be broadcast on RTÉ One at 11.15pm on Saturday 23rd November.

Congratulations to all of the winners!


Readers everywhere are being invited to vote for their overall ‘An Post Irish Book of the Year’ the winner of which will be announced in January. All voters are also in with a chance of winning €100 worth of National Book Tokens. Previous ‘Book of the Year’ award winners include Emilie Pine for Notes to Self; John Crowley, Donal Ó Drisceoil, Mike Murphy and John Borgonovo for Atlas of the Irish Revolution; Mike McCormack for Solar Bones; Louise O’Neill for Asking For It; Mary Costello for Academy St; Donal Ryan for The Spinning Heart; Michael Harding for Staring at Lakes; and Belinda McKeon for Solace.

Voting is open now. Participate by clicking here.

Here are the winners from each category:

Eason Novel of the Year

National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year 

Bookselling Ireland Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year 

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year 

TheJournal.ie Best Irish Published Book of the Year 

Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year 

Avoca Cookbook of the Year 

Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year

RTÉ Radio One Listeners’ Choice Award 

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Junior)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Senior) 

Dept 51@Eason Teen / Young Adult Book of the Year 

Listowel Writers’ Week Irish Poem of the Year 

Writing.ie Short Story of the Year 

The Love Leabhar Gaeilge Irish Language Book of the Year