Home News Irish poet Liz Quirke on shortlist for international Julie Suk Award

Irish poet Liz Quirke on shortlist for international Julie Suk Award

How We Arrive in Winter by Liz Quirke (Salmon Poetry) makes Julie Suk Award shortlist

Jacar Press has announced this year’s shortlist for the Julie Suk Award, a prize for the best book by a literary press.

Liz Quirke‘s collection How We Arrive in Winter published by Salmon Poetry is one of thirteen literary publications in the running this year.

‘A beautiful meditation on love and loss, the overwhelming brutality of grief and the mystery in the everyday-ordinary. Quirke demonstrates great control against raw emotion, and sharp attention to time at an alternate pace. How we Arrive In Winter is filled with beautiful and heartbreaking poems on the human condition, fragility and resilience.’

Elaine Feeney, author of Rise and As You Were

Liz Quirke reading the title poem from her collection, for Books Ireland

Last year saw two poets win first prize, Nandi Comer for the collection Tapping Out, (Northwestern University Press) and Brian Komei Dempster for Seize (Four Way Books), while previous winners of the award include Kaveh AkbarCalling a Wolf a Wolf (Alice James Books), and Kevin Prufer, How He Loved Them (Four Way Books).

The award is open to any poetry book published by a small, literary, or university press.


Last Days – Tamiko Beyer – Alice James Books

Your Crib, My Qibla – Saddiq Dzukogi – University of Nebraska Press

West Portal – Benjamin Gucciardi – The University of Utah Press

Tethered to Stars – Fady Joudah – Milkweed Editions

Where the Wolf – Sallly Rosen Kindred – Diode Editions

Pine – Julia Koets – Southern Indiana Review Press

Ordinary Psalms – Julia B. Levine – LSU Press

Gumbo YaYa – Aurielle Marie – University of Pittsburgh Press

Tender the River – Matt W. Miller – Texas Review Press

Dear Diaspora – Susan Nguyen – University of Nebraska Press

How We Arrive in Winter – Liz Quirke – Salmon Poetry

Brocken Spectre – Jacques J. Rancourt – Alice James Books

Philomath – Devon Walker-Figueroa – Milkweed Editions