Home News Lilliput wins Small Press of the Year Regional Award

Lilliput wins Small Press of the Year Regional Award

Congratulations to the Lilliput Press who were announced today as the regional winner for The Small Press of the Year Award (Ireland), 2020.

Speaking to Books Ireland today, publisher Antony Farrell says, ‘We are thrilled – this award (despite the designation as a region by our island neighbour!) is all due to the Lilliput team and our authors who are at the focal point of our work. We will continue to champion the centrality of the book in Irish cultural life, and we support the whole book trade in these difficult times.’

The Lilliput Press, Ireland’s winner, is modest about its significant impact on Ireland’s culture over 35 years. It added a book a month to its backlist of more than 500 titles, including its first Eason’s bestseller from Seamus Mallon, and many bold débuts.” As published on The Bookseller.

The 2020 nominees for Small Press of the Year (Ireland) were:

Founded in 1984 by Antony Farrell in County Westmeath, The Lilliput Press is one of Ireland’s smallest and most prestigious publishing houses. In 1989 the office was moved to its present locale in Arbour Hill, Stoneybatter, Dublin 7. More than 600 titles have appeared under its imprint; these encompass art, music (both traditional and popular Irish music) architecture, autobiography and memoir, biography and history, ecology and environmentalism, essays and literary criticism, philosophy, current affairs and popular culture, fiction, drama and poetry, all broadly focused on Irish themes. They specialize in biography, historical non-fiction and memoir, but are also one of the leading fiction publishers in Ireland and are known for discovering exciting new talents such as Donal Ryan, Rob Doyle and Elske Rahill.
Having celebrated 35 years in business in 2019, the Lilliput Press champions the centrality of the book in Irish life and culture and is very proud to continue to nurture writing of the highest calibre, including the work of Alice Lyons (Oona, 2020), Adrian Duncan (Love Notes from a German Building Site, 2019; A Sabbatical in Leipzig, 2020), Mike Chinoy (Are You With Me?, 2020), Emer Martin (The Cruelty Men, 2018) and Mary Cregan (The Scar, 2019). The Lilliput Press is supported by funding from the Arts Council of Ireland / An Chomhairle Ealaíon.

To learn more about the Lilliput Press and their impressive range of books go the website: https://www.lilliputpress.ie/