Home News New board for Publishing Ireland

New board for Publishing Ireland

The AGM of Publishing Ireland, the Irish Book Publishers’ Association, took place this week, and the newly formed board of directors will now be led by Mariel Deegan of New Island Books as President, with Joanna Smyth of Hachette Ireland elected to the role of Vice President. 

Deegan replaces Ivan O’Brien of O’Brien Press in the role and will chair the board and represent Publishing Ireland on the board of the Dublin Book Festival.

“It has been a pleasure to serve as President of Publishing Ireland during what has been a time of substantial change,” commented O’Brien to Books Ireland, “with the support of a diverse and hard-working board. Irish Books for Screen, the Dublin Book Festival and having a great training programme stand out, as well as our collaboration with booksellers on Irish Book Week. The new board is energised and ready to take on the challenges and opportunities that face Irish book publishing, and I look forward to seeing the change, creativity and innovation they will bring.”

The full board of directors is as follows:

  • Mariel Deegan, President(New Island)
  • Joanna Smyth, Vice President(Hachette Ireland)
  • Una MacConville (The Wordwell Group)
  • Conor Graham (IAP/Merrion Press)
  • Michael Diviney (Chartered Accountants Ireland)
  • Ceclia West (Messenger Publications)
  • Patrick O’Donoghue* (Mercier)
  • Ruth Hallinan* (Lilliput Press) 
  • Nicki Howard (Gill Books)
  • Cliona Lewis* (Penguin Ireland)
  • Becky McIndoe, Treasurer

    *Denotes new board member

For more information on Publishing Ireland, their membership and activities see www.publishingireland.com