Home News NY IAC, 12th Annual Poetry Fest

NY IAC, 12th Annual Poetry Fest

(A Virtual) PoetryFest

“There are poems that tell stories, but there are also poems that just give you a moment of vision or transcendence or colour even, or just an image that you can carry around with you. Two lines. Two lines can save a life, I believe it.” – Paula Meehan 

For the 12th annual PoetryFest, curated by Nick Laird, the New York Irish Arts Center will go digital and invite you to embrace the meditative, nourishing world conjured by these five extraordinary poets: 

Advertisement
  • Ailbhe Darcy (Roland Mathias Award, Pigott Poetry Prize) 
  • Miriam Gamble (2020 Pigott Poetry Prize, Somerset Maugham Award)
  • Terrance Hayes (2014 MacArthur Fellow) 
  • Ada Límon (National Book Award Finalist, National Book Critics Circle Award) 
  • Paula Meehan (member of Aosdána, Marten Toonder Award for Literature, Butler Literary Award for Poetry). 

All events are free, see below for more details and register to attend. 


FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 6

FAVORITE IRISH POEMS
8pm EST / 1am IST
REGISTER >

SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 7

READING 1 
Ailbhe DarcyAda Limón, and Miriam Gamble
Introduction: Nick Laird 
1pm EST / 6pm IST 
REGISTER >

DESERT ISLAND POEMS 
Paula Meehan and Terrance Hayes
In conversation with Nick Laird 
2pm EST / 7pm IST 
REGISTER >

READING 2 
Paula Meehan and Terrance Hayes 
Introduction: Nick Laird
3:15pm EST / 8:15 IST 
REGISTER >

Advertisement