Home Irish Language Winners of Oireachtas na Gaeilge Publishing Awards 2022

Winners of Oireachtas na Gaeilge Publishing Awards 2022

Futa Fata pick up two prizes at Oireachtas na Gaeilge Publishing Awards 2022

Co. Galway-based children’s publisher Futa Fata and its imprint Barzaz, which publishes contemporary fiction for adults, scooped two out of three prestigious awards at the Oireachtas na Gaeilge Publishing Awards on Wednesday 5 October 2022.

The winners in each category were picked from a strong shortlist, announced earlier in the year.

Gradam de Bhaldraithe

The first award of the evening was Gradam de Bhaldraithe which celebrates excellence in translation, and was awarded to Khalil, a novel by Yasmina Khadra translated from the original French by Máirín Nic Con Iomaire.

Inspired by the 2015 real life events of the Paris bombings, the novel tracks Khalil, a 23 year old radicalised Muslim, as he makes his way towards Stade de France with a bomb strapped to his waist. Things go awry for our protagonist, but to what end? 

Khalil is a journey into the mind of an extremist but one from which we emerge with a new understanding of the intolerance that lies at the root of the problem.“—Cathal Póirtéir

Gradam Réics Carló

Gradam Réics Carló celebrates excellence in children’s literature and was awarded to An Slipéar Gloine by Fearghas Mac Lochlainn, illustrated by Paddy Donnelly

An Slipéar Gloine is a rhythmic telling of the classic story of Cinderella. Told with humour, the book is a creative feast both for the eyes and the ears. Mac Lochlainn is renowned for his lyrical songs and has won many awards at Oireachtas na Samhna for his lúibíní.  

Gradam Uí Shúilleabháin

The final award of the evening, Gradam Uí Shúilleabháin, went to publishing house Éabhlóid for Bláth na dTulach – Díolaim Ultach, edited by Réaltán Ní Leannáin, Eoghan Mac Giolla Bhríde and Mícheál Ó Domhnaill.

This book is a collection of 28 short stories from 28 writers, young and old, that commemorates the contemporary style of writing in Ulster.

buíochas ó chroí to Oireachtas na Gaeilge and Foras na Gaeilge for the recognition of the incredible work of all the winners and those on the shortlist.