Home News Listowel Writers’ Week Winners

Listowel Writers’ Week Winners

Winners of Listowel Writers’ Week Competitions 2023

Kerry was wearing her most beautiful clothes for this year’s Listowel Writers’ Week, with a string of sunny days to mark Ireland’s oldest festival over the June bank holiday weekend. Many hats were raised to curator Stephen Connolly and all of the Listowel team for putting on such a memorable and meaningful event.

If you swapped your screens for sun, sea or sand over the bank holiday and want to catch up on the announcements, here are the Listowel Writers’ Week Competition Winners 2023—and you can see the full shortlists and further information here.

Kerry Group Novel of the Year Award 2023

Winner: The Amusements by Aingeala Flannery (Penguin).

Pigott Poetry Prize 2023

Winner: Company by Tom French (Gallery Press).

Nilsson Local Heritage Award                                                    

Winner:  Dublin Castle: From Fortress to Palace by Séan Duffy, John Montague, Kevin Mulligan & Michael O’Neill (Wordwell).

Second Prize:  The Forgotten Cemetery: Excavation at Ranelagh, Co. Roscommon Shane Delaney & Eileen Murphy (Wordwell).

Poetry Collection                                                                               

Winner: The Wings My Father Made Me by Paul McMahon.

Bryan MacMahon Short Story Award                                                             

Winner:  Birth of a Devil Sheep by David McGrath.

Duais Foras na Gaeilge                                              

Winner:  I dTeach na Teanga by Laoighseach Ní Choistealbha.

Creative Writing for Adults with Learning Difficulties and, or, Disabilities, Award 

Winner: The Job by Colm O’Shea