Home News Great Reads Award—longlist revealed

Great Reads Award—longlist revealed

Jing Yi Zhang, Lily Rossiter, Honor O’Toole, Sophie Cox from Lorreto on the Green.

Great Reads Award longlist has been revealed

The Great Reads Award is now in its ninth year, with participating schools from all over Ireland taking part each year. One of the few awards where students vote and choose the winning titles, the aim of the award is to encourage enthusiasm, critical thinking and engagement with novels.

This is underpinned by the dedication of school librarians who spend a long time curating the longlist before undertaking a summer of reading to whittle it down to the final ten that appear on the shortlist. 

The Great Reads Award is supported by the School Libraries Group at the Library Association of Ireland, Dubray Books, Alan Hanna’s Bookshop, Raven Books, The Book Nest, Interleaf Technology and Bookselling Ireland.

The shortlist will be unveiled on 01 September, with the winners announced in February 2024, following the reading and voting process undertaken by Irish teenagers across the country. 

For further information about the award, find out more here.


Junior Category

Nick Brooks for Promise Boys

Meabh Collins for Freya Harte is Not a Puzzle

Amy Clarkin for What Walks These Halls

Anika Hussain for This is How You Fall in Love

Xena Knox for Sh!t Bag

Aislinn O’Loughlin for Big Bad Me

Amara Sage for Influential

Josh Silver for Happy Head

M.J. Sullivan for Game Over: Rise of the Raid Mob

Trang Thanh Tran for She is a Haunting

Senior Category

James Acker for The Long Run

Sam Blake for Something Terrible Happened Last Night

Candice Braithwaite for Cuts Both Ways

Triona Campbell for A Game of Life or Death

Sarah Daniels for The Stranded

Jenny Éclair for The Writing on the Wall

Bryony Gordon for Let Down Your Hair

Ravena Guron for This Book Kills

Jenny Ireland for The First Move

Clara Kumagai for Catfish Rolling

Krystal Marquis for The Davenports