Home News Shortlists announced for the Dalkey Literary Awards 

Shortlists announced for the Dalkey Literary Awards 

The shortlists for this year’s Dalkey Literary Awards have been announced by the Dalkey Book Festival, in conjunction with Zurich Insurance plc

Some well-known names in Irish writing including Sally Rooney, Booker-prize winner John Banville, and established authors Claire Keegan, Nuala O’Connor and Kevin Power will appear at a special event at the Dalkey Book Festival in June.  


With a prize fund of €30,000, it’s the biggest award solely for Irish writers. The Novel of the Year will be decided by Fred Studemann (Literary Editor of the FT Weekend), Elaine Feeney (writer), and Willie White (Director, Dublin Theatre Festival).

Madeleine Keane (Sunday Independent), Martina Devlin (writer) and Hugh Linehan (The Irish Times) make up the judging panel for the Emerging Writer category. 

The authors are set to appear at a panel event on Saturday 18thJune before the awards take place later that evening.  

Dalkey Literary Awards 2022 Novel of the Year shortlist

  • April in Spain by John Banville
  • Beautiful World, Where Are You by Sally Rooney
  • Nora by Nuala O’Connor
  • Small Things Like These by Claire Keegan
  • White City by Kevin Power

Dalkey Literary Awards 2022 Emerging Writer shortlist

  • A Crooked Tree by Una Mannion
  • Bright Burning Things by Lisa Harding
  • Eat Or We Both Starve by Victoria Kennefick
  • The End of the World is a Cul de Sac by Louise Kennedy
  • Unsettled by Rosaleen McDonagh.

The winners of the 2022 Novel of the Year and Emerging Writer Awards, which boast prize funds of €20,000 and €10,000 respectively, will be announced as part of the Dalkey Book Festival which will return from 16th to 19th June.

Sian Smyth, Director of the Dalkey Book Festival said that she was extremely proud to be announcing the shortlists for the third year running.

“Zurich are giving back to writers with a generous prize fund, the most lucrative in the Irish literary calendar. I hope the announcement of these shortlists will prompt the reading – or re-reading – of the shortlisted titles.”