Home News Winners of the An Post Book Awards 2023

Winners of the An Post Book Awards 2023

The winners of the An Post Book Awards 2023 have been revealed

Following a sparkling event with the great and the good of Irish books, the An Post Irish Book Awards have been revealed.

Liz Nugent, Eimear Ryan, Claire Keegan, Peter Donnelly, Mary O’Donnell and Moïra Fowley are among the winning authors at this year’s awards which were held in the Convention Centre, Dublin this evening.


Eason Novel of the Year

The Bee Sting, by Paul Murray (Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Random House)

TheJournal.ie Best Irish-Published Book of the Year

Sunday Miscellany: A Selection 2018 – 2023, Edited by Sarah Binchy (New Island Books)

Bookselling Ireland Biography of the Year

Poor, by Katriona O’Sullivan (Sandycove)

Cookbook of the Year

Flavour, by Mark Moriarty, photography by Cliodhna Prendergast (Gill Books)

Bookstation Lifestyle Book of the Year

The Hike Life, by Roz Purcell (Black and White Publishing)

Dubray Non-Fiction Book of the Year

A Thread of Violence, by Mark O’Connell (Granta Books)

Eason Sports Book of the Year in association with Ireland AM

The Grass Ceiling, by Eimear Ryan (Sandycove)

Library Association of Ireland Author of the Year

Claire Keegan (Faber and Faber)

Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year

Strange Sally Diamond, by Liz Nugent (Sandycove)

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

Kala, by Colin Walsh (Atlantic Books)

National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year

My Hot Friend, by Sophie White (Hachette Books Ireland)

Foras na Gaeilge Irish Language Fiction Book of the Year Award

Imram agus Scéalta Eile, by Róise Ní Bhaoill (Éabhlóid)

The Last Word Listeners’ Choice Award

Poor, by Katriona O’Sullivan (Sandycove)

New Voices: The An Post Writing Prize

The Border / Кордон – Valeriia Shmyrova

International Education Services Teen and Young Adult Book of the Year, in honour of John Treacy

Black and Irish: Legends, Trailblazers and Everyday Heroes, by Leon Diop and Briana Fitzsimons, illustrated by Jessica Louis (Little Island Books and Black and Irish)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Junior

The President’s Dog, by Peter Donnelly (Gill Books)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Senior

I Am The Wind: Irish Poems for Children Everywhere, Edited by Lucinda Jacob and Sarah Webb, illustrated by Ashwin Chacko (Little Island Books)

Writing.ie Short Story of the Year

Such A Pretty Face, by Moïra Fowley (Eyes Guts Throat Bones, Orion)

Listowel Writers’ Week Poem of the Year

Vectors in Kabul, by Mary O’Donnell

An Post Bookshop of the Year

Trish Hennessy of Halfway up the Stairs, Greystones, Co. Wicklow

Halfway up the Stairs, Greystones, Co. Wicklow