Home News Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist announced

Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist announced

Trespasses by Louise Kennedy one of nine debuts on the Women’s Prize for Fiction

Trespasses by Louise Kennedy (Bloomsbury) is one of nine debuts on the longlist for the Women’s Prize for Fiction this year, which includes previous winners Maggie O’Farrell and Barbara Kingsolver.

The Women’s Prize for Fiction was founded in 1996, and is open to any novel by a woman originally published in English, with a prize of £30,000.

The Chair of judges, writer and broadcaster Louise Minchin, said that the 16 books on the longlist were a “a glorious celebration of boundless imagination and creative ambition” and that many offered a fresh perspective on history and humanity.

“They deal with some very difficult subjects, and hard truths, some of them with a brilliantly dark sense of humour.”

The shortlist of six books will be revealed on 26 April and the winner on 14 June.

Last year’s winner was Ruth Ozeki for her fourth novel The Book of Form and Emptiness.

The longlist

Glory by NoViolet Bulawayo (Chatto) 

Homesick by Jennifer Croft (Charco) 

Fire Rush by Jacqueline Crooks (Cape) 

Children of Paradise by Camilla Grudova (Atlantic)

Stone Blind by Natalie Haynes (Mantle)

Trespasses by Louise Kennedy (Bloomsbury) 

Demon Copperhead by Barbara Kingsolver (Faber)  

Cursed Bread by Sophie Mackintosh (Hamish Hamilton)

The Dog of the North by Elizabeth McKenzie (Fourth Estate)

Black Butterflies by Priscilla Morris (Duckworth) 

The Marriage Portrait by Maggie O’Farrell (Tinder)

I’m a Fan by Sheena Patel (Granta, originally published by Rough Trade) 

Pod by Laline Paull (Corsair) 

Wandering Souls by Cecile Pin (Fourth Estate)

The Bandit Queens by Parini Shroff (Allen & Unwin)

Memphis by Tara M Stringfellow (John Murray)