Home News Less than a week left to vote in the Irish Book Awards

Less than a week left to vote in the Irish Book Awards

The clock is ticking on the Irish Book Awards, with under a week left to vote

There’s less than a week left to vote in the Irish Book Awards.

Cast your vote and be in with a chance to win a €100 gift card from National Book Tokens—that’s Christmas sorted!

Have you decided who to vote for yet? Here’s a reminder of the categories.

Eason Novel of the Year

Trespasses – Louise Kennedy (Bloomsbury Circus)
The Colony – Audrey Magee (Faber & Faber)
Seven Steeples – Sara Baume (Tramp Press)
The Marriage Portrait – Maggie O’Farrell (Tinder Press) 
The Queen of Dirt Island – Donal Ryan (Doubleday)
The Raptures – Jan Carson (Doubleday)

Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year

Remember my Name – Sam Blake (Corvus) 
Run Time – Catherine Ryan Howard (Corvus) 
Breaking Point – Edel Coffey (Sphere)
The Accomplice – Steve Cavanagh (Orion)
The Interview – Gill Perdue (Sandycove)
Hide and Seek – Andrea Mara (Transworld)

Eason Sports Book of the Year in Association with Ireland AM

The Game – Tadhg Coakley (Merrion Press)
A History of the GAA in 100 Objects – Siobhán Doyle (Merrion Press)
Point to Point – The Heart of Irish Horse Racing – Healy Racing, with words by Richard Pugh and photographs by Pat ‘Cash’ Healy (The O’Brien Press)
Life Begins in Leitrim – Zak Moradi, with Niall Kelly (Gill Books)
The Rodfather – Roddy Collins, with Paul Howard (Sandycove)
Kellie – Kellie Harrington, with Roddy Doyle (Sandycove)

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

None of This is Serious – Catherine Prasifka (Canongate Books)
There’s Been a Little Incident – Alice Ryan (Head of Zeus)
Speechless – Fiacre Ryan (Merrion Press)
Breaking Point – Edel Coffey (Sphere)
My Fourth Time, We Drowned – Sally Hayden (Fourth Estate)
The Amusements – Aingeala Flannery (Sandycove)

Odgers Berndtson Non-fiction Book of the Year

Listen to the Land Speak – Manchán Magan (Gill Books)
Lessons from the Bench – Judge Gillian Hussey, with Rachel Pierce (Gill Books)
My Fourth Time, We Drowned – Sally Hayden (Fourth Estate)
Gaffs – Rory Hearne (HarperCollins Ireland)
Fierce Appetites – Elizabeth Boyle (Sandycove)
Heiress, Rebel, Vigilante, Bomber – Sean O’Driscoll (Sandycove)

Dubray Biography of the Year

The Last Good Funeral of the Year – Ed O’Loughlin (Riverrun)
Without Warning and only Sometimes – Kit de Waal (Tinder Press) 
Time and Tide – Charlie Bird, with Ray Burke (HarperCollins Ireland)
I Don’t Want to Talk About Home – Suad Aldarra (Doubleday)
Surrender – Bono (Hutchinson Heinemann)
All Down Darkness Wide – Seán Hewitt (Jonathan Cape) 

Avoca Cookbook of the Year

Bake – Graham Herterich (Nine Bean Rows Books)
Lili’s Family Favourites – Lili Forberg (The O’Brien Press)
The Daly Dish: Bold Food Made Good – Gina Daly, Karol Daly (Gill Books)
The GIY Diaries: A Year of Growing and Cooking – Michael Kelly (Gill Books)
Sweet Therapy: The Joy of Baking – Una Leonard (Hachette Books Ireland)
Lush – Daniel Lambert (HarperCollins Ireland)

National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year

Forever Home – Graham Norton (Coronet)
What Eden Did Next – Sheila O’Flanagan (Headline Review)
Duffy and Son – Damien Owens (HarperCollins Ireland)
Again, Rachel – Marian Keyes (Michael Joseph)
Once Upon a Time in Donnybrook – Ross O’Carroll-Kelly (Sandycove)
Idol – Louise O’Neill (Transworld)

Bookstation Lifestyle Book of the Year

The Homemade Year – Lilly Higgins (Gill Books)
An Irish Atlantic Rainforest: A Personal Journey into the Magic of Rewilding – Eoghan Daltun (Hachette Books Ireland)
Still Points: A Guide to Living the Mindful, Meditative Way – Brother Richard (Hachette Books Ireland)
The Female Factor – Dr. Hazel Wallace (Yellow Kite)
What Every Woman Needs to Know About Her Gut – Barbara Ryan, Elaine McGowan (John Murray Press)
Climate Worrier – Colm O’Regan (HarperCollins Ireland)

The Journal.ie Best Irish Published Book of the Year

The Book of the Skelligs – John Crowley and John Sheehan (Cork University Press)
Abandoned Ireland – Rebecca Brownlie (Merrion Press)
The Guardians – 100 Years of An Garda Síochána 1922-2022 – Garda Stephen Moore (The O’Brien Press)
The Irish Civil War in Colour – Michael B. Barry, John O’Byrne (Gill Books)
The Great Lighthouses of Ireland – David Hare (Gill Books)
An Irish Folklore Treasury – John Creedon (Gill Books)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Junior)

Cloud Babies – Eoin Colfer, illustrated by Chris Judge (Walker Books)
Well Done, Mommy Penguin – Chris Haughton (Walker Books)
Fox and Son Tailers – Paddy Donnelly, (The O’Brien Press)
Our Big Day – Bob Johnston, illustrated by Michael Emberley (The O’Brien Press)
Meanwhile Back on Earth – Oliver Jeffers (HarperCollins Children’s Books)
Sir Adam the Brave and the Moody Monsters – David King, illustrated by Rhiannon Archard (Sandycove) 

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Senior)

The Lost Girl King – Catherine Doyle (Bloomsbury Children’s Books)
The Day I Got Trapped in my Brain – Amy Huberman, illustrated by Katie Kear (Scholastic)
Frankie’s World – Aoife Dooley, (Scholastic)
The Truth About Riley – Sinéad Moriarty (Gill Books)
The Great Irish History Book – Myles Dungan, illustrated by Alan Dunne (Gill Books)
Girls Who Slay Monsters – Ellen Ryan, illustrated by Shone Shirley MacDonald (HarperCollins Ireland)

Teen and Young Adult Book of the Year

Truth be Told – Sue Divin (Macmillan Children’s Books)
Rock, Paper, Killers – Alexia Mason (Simon and Schuster)
The Gifts That Bind Us – Caroline O’Donoghue (Walker Books)
The Asparagus Bunch – Jessica Scott-Whyte (Welbeck Flame)
Let’s Talk – Richie Sadlier (Gill Books)
Twin Crowns – Katherine Webber and Catherine Doyle (Farshore – Electric Monkey, Harper Collins)

Listowel Writers’ Week Poem of the Year

Unmaking His Chair – Jim McElroy (From: We Are the Weather, published by Smith/ Doorstop
Wedding Dress – Martina Dalton (From: New Irish Writing, Irish Independent)
What Man Doesn’t – Paul McMahon (From: The Poetry Society – VII, No. 4, Winter 2021)
Amelia’s Model – Michael Longley (From: The Slain Birds – Jonathan Cape)

Writing.ie Short Story of the Year

Sleep Watchers – Roisín O’Donnell (From: The Stinging Fly Press)
Red Market – Sheila Armstong (From: How to Gut a Fish – Bloomsbury)
This Small Giddy Life – Nuala O’Connor (From: A Little Unsteadily into Light – New Island)
The Chekhovians – Rebecca Miller (From: Total – Canongate Books)
Mathematics – Wendy Erskine (From: Dance Move – The Stinging Fly Press)
Miles of Bad Road – Neil Tully (From: The Waxed Lemon Literary Journal)

Love Leabhar Gaeilge Irish Language Book of the Year

EL – Thaddeus Ó Buachalla (Coiscéim)
An Dara Roghna – Celia de Fréine (LeabhairCOMHAR)
Bádh B’fhéidir – Seán Ó Muireagáin (Éabhlóid)
Súil an Dáill – Darach Ó Scolaí (Leabhar Breac)
Bláth na dTulach – Stories form 28 Authors (Éabhlóid)

Library Association of Ireland Author of the Year

Catherine Ryan Howard 
Sally Rooney
Sarah Webb
Roisín Meaney
Louise O’Neill
John Boyne

An Post Bookshop of the Year 2022

nb: The shortlist was decided by public vote, but the winner will be chosen by a selected panel

Books at One, Letterfrack

Bridge Books, Dromore

Bridge Street Books, Wicklow

Charlie Byrne’s Bookshop, Galway

Philip’s Bookshop, Mallow

Tertulia Bookshop, Westport

You can read more about some of the bookshops shortlisted in our Bookshop Focus feature.

Winners from each category, including best bookshop, will be revealed at an Awards Ceremony on 23 November in the Convention Centre, Dublin.

The public vote is open now.