Home News Irish Author Aoife Fitzpatrick on Lucy Cavendish Prize Shortlist

Irish Author Aoife Fitzpatrick on Lucy Cavendish Prize Shortlist

Lucy Cavendish College, part of the University of Cambridge, has published a shortlist of 6 authors for its 2020 Fiction Prize. Irish author, Aoife Fitzpatrick, made the list with her work. An Arrangement in Grey and Black. This was the second biggest year yet for the Prize, which received a total of over 400 entries. Many shortlisted authors in previous years have been offered agency representation and have gone on to be published.

The 2020 Shortlist

  • Bibi Berki – The Watch
  • Emma Barlow – Message Received
  • Aoife Fitzpatrick – An Arrangement in Grey and Black
  • Francesca Steele – The Group
  • Susan Stokes-Chapman – Pandora
  • Laure Van Rensburg – Eden Lost

The 2020 judging panel welcomes Jackie Ashley, political journalist, broadcaster and Honorary Fellow of the College (after leaving the College as its eight President). Also new to the panel is Clio Cornish (Editorial Director for Michael Joseph, Penguin Random House). Returning to the panel are literary agent Nelle Andrew, editor and ghost-writer Gillian Stern, Emeritus Fellow Lindsey Traub, and poet, crime writer and Honorary Fellow, Sophie Hannah. Journalist and author Allison Pearson will chair the panel. Another newcomer to the judging panel this year is Tim Bates, Head of the Books Department and literary agent sponsor at PFD.

The Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize was founded in 2010 by Professor Janet Todd OBE, then President of the College. Aspiring authors are invited to submit an opening to a novel (up to the first 50 pages), accompanied by a synopsis of how the novel progresses and concludes. Entrants must be female, aged 21 and over and resident in the UK. The winner will be announced on 29 October 2020, and will receive a cash prize of £1,500 and a consultation with Peters Fraser Dunlop.